Guilt of a mother

I’m sorry I’ve got to continue putting on my makeup for work when you came to me and hugged my legs, with my PJs in your other hand. All you wanted was for me to stay home with you.

I’m sorry I’ve got to leave home for work when you said “Bibi sit” and patted the space on the sofa next to you. All you wanted was to watch Blippi togther while enjoying your breakfast.

I’m sorry I’ve got to leave you in playschool every morning despite you clinging to my shoulders so tightly and shaking your little head so hard that your soft hair floats in the morning breeze. 

I’m sorry I’ve got to leave you for so many damn hours a day, five days a week.

Experts say it is not that hours spent together that count, but quality of time spent together. Tell that to the weeping toddler who just wants mummy or daddy next to him when it is time to leave for work.

Leave a Reply

