Busy day

People who think SHMs have it easier than a FTWM should think again.

Here’s how my day is when I’m home alone with baby:

I wake once baby does (often before daybreak!) and doesn’t get to brush my teeth, wash my face, comb my hair and eat my breakfast until baby is fed, played with and then put down for his mid-morning nap.

But once he falls asleep, it is a rush to get personal grooming done, eat breakfast while prepping the ingredients for his lunch, and put the dirty luandry in the machine while the vegetables/porridge cook themselves on the stove. There’s only 60 to 90 minutes to work with before he wakes!

And after he wakes, he needs to be played with, read to, fed and bathed.

image

My lunch is often sneakily had in the kitchen while he’s engrossed with his toys because this kid is a bottomless pit and wants everything I’m having! šŸ˜ƒ

Then, at 3pm, I feed him a bottle and try to put him down for his afternoon nap. If I’m lucky, he will not struggle and go to sleep in my loving embrace as I sing him Christmas songs (yes he loves them!) and the usual lullabies.

When he’s asleep, it is another dash to to put the laundered clothes in the sun, prep his dinner, have my bath and perhaps try to catch 40 precious winks myself.

It is usually 4.30pm when he rises bright and happy and ready for more playtime with me.

So we do.

Come 5pm, I will rely on the TV to keep him still while I hop back and forth between the kitchen and living room to cook his dinner while making sure he doesn’t kill himself by climbing up the bookshelves. Titus is quite the courageous explorer! 

Time flies towards the end of the day, and soon it will be 8.30pm – time to wind down. So I soften the volume on the TV, dim the lights, give him a bath and time for some water play, change him into his PJs and feed him a warm bottle of milk.

I sing as he drinks, and then I lay him in his cot. Most days the awesome boy rolls around, kicks his legs out between the slats of the cot, and coos until he falls asleep on his own. I’m lucky like that!

By then it is usually past 9am and I’m exhausted. It is finally MY time and I lay on the couch with the TV on but my eyes are on my smartphone, going through the numerous photos of Titus I had taken throughout the day.

It is tiring to care for an active baby on my own, but it is helluva satisfying.

I find working in my office far easier! šŸ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

