Japanese food training starts now!

With our Spring vacation to Japan coming up in two months, it is time to get Titus acquainted with Japanese flavours.

Getting him his usual meals of rice porridge with fish, meat and vegetable mash will be a challenge there, as I am not able to cook for most part of the trip. We did book a serviced residence for our three-day leg in Nagoya though, so I’m not fretting over his diet on those days.

But we do have to seriously think how to feed him well during the first five days of the trip.

The attentive general manager of the Shosenkaku Kagetsu ryokan in Echigo Yuzawa wrote to me to enquire about my plans to feed baby (how wonderful is that!), and suggested giving him udon soup, “which is popular food for baby in Japan”.

That got me thinking about how I can share my plate (or bowl) with Titus.

So on Saturday afternoon we brought Titus to Sushi Tei in Paragon to give him his first introduction to Japanese cuisine.

image

He enjoyed chawanmushi and rice drenched in sweet teriyaki sauce. No surprise there. He gagged on the soft, creamy filling of the pumpkin and cheese croquette though, which was unexpected since he eats pumpkin daily.

The next day, I made him chawanmushi for lunch, using a simple stock from chicken and carrots. It was nothing like the ones you get in the restaurants but baby is a kind patron who slumped it all up, much to my delight (and relief!).

He then went along with us to Yayoiken in Liang Court; we had to eat too! There, I fed him some of my udon in Miso soup. Cut into shorter straps and accompanied with tiny sheets of wakame. He didn’t resist that although he did not show his usual enthusiasm with food.

Never mind. I’ve bought a pot of red Miso (so yummy!) and packets of inaniwa udon (thinner and easier to eat, perhaps!), and I fully intend to get him used to soupy udon over the next few days.

After giving this more thought, I’m no longer that worried about feeding Titus well in Japan. Other Japanese dishes I think he will take to are onigiri and steamed soft vegetables like pumpkin and sweet potato which I can buy from convenience stores and supermarkets. He loves yoghurt and cheese, which are also easily available.

In restaurants, he can fill up on chawanmushi, udon, steamed rice soaked in Miso soup, tofu as well as tasty fish and meat that I will have to mash up for him.

I can’t wait to show him one of my favourite destinations in the world and get him addicted to the fine flavours of Japan! šŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

